Return to ForumsReply to Thread
V-8 Small Block Rebuild

Am looking at getting my 350/270 engine rebuilt on my 1971 and if no major issues are discovered what should a reasonable cost be to have my engine rebuilt and what items should I expect to have completed in the rebuild?

Submitted by: Lawrence McLin

ReplyPosted By
Thanks Donald will do! Lawrence McLin on 6/26/2016 3:05:08 PM
There's an Enstine on vetts named William Phillips in Sumter SC that has helped me with my two C3 and C5. All he works on is Vetts. You can call him Tuesday - Saturday at 803 494-8944 and he will be glad to assist you. Or fax at 803-494-6264. Donald Sills on 5/29/2016 5:35:28 PM
Ken/ John Thanks so much for the responses. I definitely would not be doing this work. My shop is Dream Restorations in Moyock, NC. All great points as I'm new to the C3 restoration process having been a prior C4/C5 owner. Nothing like a C3. Thanks again! Mac Lawrence McLin on 5/29/2016 1:37:15 PM
No one can tell you what a rebuild will cost until they take your engine apart. I would say 2500 to 3000 is what you can expect. The piston rings need to be replaced and the valves need to be ground. The bearings on the crank shaft need to be replaced as well as the timing chain and engine mounts. Often the labor costs depend on where you live. Posted by Administrator on 5/25/2016 9:13:50 AM